Trail of Tears Facts

Native Indian Tribe

Trail of Tears Facts
This page provides a fast overview of the key dates and events that culminated in the forced march called the Trail of Tears.

Trail of Tears Facts

  • Fact 01: The Trail of Tears was approximately 1000 miles

  • Fact 02: The Five Civilised Tribes were were forced to travel from their homelands in the Deep South to reservations in present day Oklahoma

  • Fact 03: The names of the Five Civilised Tribes were the Cherokee, Choctaw, Seminole, Chickasaw and Creek

  • Fact 04: The journeys of the Five Civilised Tribes along the Trail of Tears started in 1831

    • The Choctaw tribe were removed in 1831

    • The Seminole tribe were removed in 1832

    • The Creek tribe were removed in 1834

    • The Chickasaw tribe were removed in 1837

    • The Cherokee tribe were removed in 1838

  • Fact 05: Of the 16,000 Choctaw Indians who journeyed across the Trail of Tears between 5000 and 6,000 died en route

  • Fact 06: The Five Civilised Tribes were so-called because they adopted the various cultural and political features of the Europeans including farming methods, clothing, houses and many converted to Christianity.

  • Fact 07: Wealthy members of the Five Civilised Tribes had black slaves who worked on their cotton plantations

  • Fact 08: The Five Civilised Tribes had a written constitution, a judiciary system and a public school system

  • Fact 09: The end of the American Civil War (1861–1865) saw the fall of the tribes and the treaties of the tribes who had supported the Confederacy were broken

  • Fact 10: President Andrew Jackson was instrumental in the events leading up to the Trail of Tears, his policies involved the ethnic cleansing of several Indian tribes

  • Fact 11: Many white settlers advocated the total extermination of the "savages."

  • Fact 12: Andrew Jackson signed the Indian Removal Act in 1830 which reversed the U.S. policy of respecting the rights of Native American Indians

  • Fact 13: The Indian Removal Act started the removal of the tribes via the Trail of Tears from their homelands in the Deep South to Indian reservations in Oklahoma.

  • Fact 14: The Treaty of New Echota in 1835 ceded all Cherokee land to the United States for $5.6 million

  • Fact 15: 17,000 Cherokees were forced off their land in 1838 and had to undertake the long journey across the Trail of Tears

  • Fact 16: General Winfield Scott led the forced removal of the Indians to start their journey on the Trail of Tears. Their homelands were won by white settlers in a lottery.

  • Fact 17: U.S. soldiers did not allow the Indians to take extra clothing, food or blankets for their journey on the Trail of Tears

  • Fact 18: The Cherokees were organized into separate groups of about 1,000 people for the journey on the Trail of Tears

  • Fact 19: The Cherokees were allowed 600 wagons and carts, 5,000 horses and just over 100 oxen for their journey across the Trail of Tears

  • Fact 20: Not all of the Indians walked the whole of the Trail of tears. Some had horses and wagons, and some were were transported part of the way by barges

  • Fact 21: The Cherokee Trail of Tears led to exposure in freezing cold weather conditions with inadequate clothing. They suffered from malnutrition, starvation and disease

  • Fact 22: The fatal diseases that killed so many of the Native Indians included Smallpox, Malaria, Measles, Cholera and Pneumonia

  • Fact 23: Nearly 4000 Cherokees died on the Trail of Tears from malnutrition, exposure, and disease.

  • Fact 24: The Cherokee tribe refer to the Trail of Tears as 'Nunna daul Isunyi' which means “The Trail Where They Cried”

History of the Trail of Tears
History of Native Americans
Native Indian Tribes Index

ⓒ 2017 Siteseen Limited

First Published

Cookies Policy


Updated 2018-01-01

Publisher Siteseen Limited

Privacy Statement