Native American Languages Map

Native Indian Tribe

Native American Languages Map - Dialects
The Native Americans spoke approximately 600 dialects in nearly 300 different languages. Linguists have organised the Native American languages to the primary groups which are are separated by location. The primary groups are categorised as Siouan, Aleut, Algonquian, Athabascan, Chinookan and Uto-Aztecan.

Native American Languages Map - Tribes

The Siouan languages are spoke by tribes including the Winnebago, Iowa, Otoe, Omaha, Kansa, Osage, Sioux or Dakota, Hidatsa, Crow and the Mandan people in areas ranging from the northeast, the southeast, the Plains and Northern California.

The Aleut and Eskimo Inuit languages are spoken by these tribes in the Artic regions.

The Chinook, Eyak, Coast Salish,  Tlingit, Tillamook and Chimakum people spoke the Chinookan languages.

The Eastern woodland tribes such as the Shawnee, Fox, Sauk, Delaware, Pequot and Menominee spoke the Algonquian language.

The five civilised tribes of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek and Seminole peoples spoke Siouan, Algonquian, Caddoan, Uto-Aztecan and Athabaskan. The Hopi, Pueblo, Zuni, Apache and Navajo tribes spoke Siouan, Algonquian, Caddoan, Uto-Aztecan and Athabaskan languages.

Native American Languages
Native American Indians Groups
Native Indian Tribes Index

ⓒ 2017 Siteseen Limited

First Published

Cookies Policy


Updated 2018-01-01

Publisher Siteseen Limited

Privacy Statement